ETSI new upcoming mission critical Plugtests event

Sophia Antipolis, 18 September 2019

ETSI, in partnership with ERILLISVERKOT (State Security Networks Group Finland) and the support of TCCA and the European Commission, organizes the fourth MCX Plugtests event which will take place from 23 to 27 September 2019 at the Savonia University of Applied Sciences, KUOPIO, FINLAND. 

This 4th PlugtestsTM event will focus on tests with radio equipment (eNBs, UEs, EPCs) with Unicast and Multicast support but will also allow Over-The-Top testing of Mission Critical Servers and Clients.

The concept of “Mission Critical Push To Talk" (MCPTT), “Mission Critical Data (MCData)” and “Mission Critical Video (MCVideo)” has been specified in 3GPP Releases 13, 14 and 15.

The purpose and scope of the MCX Plugtests events is to trial independently and jointly all components of the Mission Critical communication chain. The objective of the MCX Plugtests event is to validate the interoperability of a variety of implementations using different scenarios based on 3GPP Mission Critical Services in Release 14.

It will also help validate the 3GPP standards, provide a platform for vendors to test their implementation and products against each other, and ultimately achieve a single, interoperable, global standard. The MCX Plugtests are the first independent evaluations of public safety and mission critical Long Term Evolution (LTE) features and the interoperability of MCX products and services. Test cases will be based on the ETSI TS 103 564.

The list of participants includes:

Vendors: Airbus DS; AINA Wireless; Alea s.r.l.; Armour Communications Ltd; Athonet s.r.l.; Bittium; Cubic; Ecom Instruments GmbH; Ericsson LM; ETELM; Expway; Frequentis; Funkwerk Systems GmbH; Genaker; Havelsan A.Åž; Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.; IIT Bombay; Kontron Transportation (formerly Kapsch CarrierCom); L3Harris Technologies, Inc. (formerly Harris Corporation); Leonardo SpA; MCOP-University of the Basque Country; Motorola Solutions UK; Nemergent Solutions SL; NG-Voice GmbH; one2many B.V.; Polaris Networks; PRESCOM; Samsung Electronics Ind. Co., Ltd.; Softil; Sonim Technologies; StreamWide; TASSTA GmbH; TD Tech Ltd; valid8.

Observers: A.S.T.R.I.D. S.A.; Austin Wireless LLC; DGGN - French Ministry of Interior; Global Certification Forum (GCF); NIST/PSCR; NSW Telco Authority; Savonia university; SMIT; Suomen virveverkko Oy; TCCA; The National Police of the Netherlands; The Norwegian Directorate for Civil Protection (DSB).