ETSI algorithms

ETSI algorithms

The following is a list of algorithms developed and administered by ETSI. They may be used subject to certain conditions. Each algorithm in the list includes a link to a confidentiality and restricted usage undertaking. This outlines the conditions under which a license will be granted to use the algorithm.

Name of Algorithm Extra Information Price/
TETRA - The rules for the management of the encryption algorithms are given below:  
docxTEA1 TS 101 053-1 1,000
TEA2 (see note)
TS 101 053-2
Note: The Custodian for the TEA2 algorithm is the TCCA & not ETSI.
docxTEA3 TS 101 053-3 1,000
docxTEA4 TS 101 053-4 1,000
docxTAA1 TS 101 052 1,000


The following older algorithms have been removed from the ETSI site; for enquiries about these algorithms please contact us.

  • The DSAA (DECTTM Standard Authentication algorithm)
  • The DSC (DECTTM standard cipher)
  • TESA-7 (TE9 authentication algorithm)
  • USA-4 (UPT authentication algorithm)
  • HIPERLAN (High PERformance Local Area Network)
  • GSM-CTS (Cordial)
  • A5-GMR1 (Encryption Algorithm)

We use cookies or similar technologies to collect data about your use of this website and to improve your experience when using it. To find out how to disable our cookies, please visit our Privacy Policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.