ETSI Headquarters, Sophia Antipolis, France – 2 December 2011

ETSI Members have appointed Mr. Jonas Sundborg of Ericsson as the chair of the new ETSI Board, elected at the 58th ETSI General Assembly in Cannes.

Meeting at their 58th General Assembly in Cannes on the 29th and 30th of November 2011, ETSI members have elected a new 28 person ETSI Board and have appointed Mr. Jonas Sundborg of Ericsson to the position of Board Chair.

The ETSI Board is elected for a three-year term of office and has overall responsibility for ETSI's Technical Committees and the work programme of standards under development. Members of the Board are directly elected by the ETSI General Assembly, and the chair of the Board is chosen by the GA from among the elected Board members.

Mr. Sundborg will be assisted by three vice-chairs, Mr. Emmanuel Darmois of Alcatel-Lucent, Mr. Simon Hicks of the United Kingdom Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and Mr. Philippe Lucas of Orange.

The General Assembly also appointed Mr. Klaus Yongden Tillmann of NORMAPME, the European Office of Crafts, Trades and Small and Medium sized Enterprises for Standardisation, as a Vice-Chair of the General Assembly representing user interests.

– END –

Notes for Editors

About ETSI
ETSI produces globally-applicable standards for Information and Communications Technologies (ICT), including fixed, mobile, radio, converged, aeronautical, broadcast and internet technologies and is officially recognized by the European Union as a European Standards Organization. ETSI is an independent, not-for-profit association whose more than 700 member companies and organizations, drawn from 62 countries across 5 continents worldwide, determine its work programme and participate directly in its work. 
For more information please visit:

The ETSI logo is a Trade Mark of ETSI registered for the benefit of its Members.

For ETSI press enquiries:

Ultan Mulligan

Events & Communications,  ETSI
Tel: +33 4 92944388