ETSI General Assembly elects new Chair and Vice Chair

Sophia Antipolis, 1 December 2022

On 29 and 30 November, ETSI held its 80th General Assembly in Sophia-Antipolis, France. The agenda included the election of a new Chair and two Vice Chairs. The evening dinner, held at the prestigious Negresco hotel in Nice on the first night of the assembly, saw the celebration of the ETSI Fellowship Award Ceremony, honouring Members for their outstanding contributions to the Institute.

Bettina Funk from ITS, the Swedish National Standardization Organization (NSO), was elected as the new Chair of the ETSI GA for a two-year mandate. An ETSI Board member since 2020, Bettina brings extensive experience in standardization at ETSI, 3GPP and IEC, both with the German Federal Network Agency and later with PTS, the Swedish Post and Telecom Authority.

Having an NSO representative chairing the General Assembly is a first in ETSI. This outlines the prominent role of NSOs in ETSI and is aligned with the new European Commission Standardization Strategy.

Magnus Madfors, Head of Standardization and Industry for Europe at Ericsson was elected as Vice Chair. Massimo Vanetti, Convenor of DIGITAL SME Working Group Standards, was re-elected as Vice Chair, confirming once again the commitment of ETSI toward SMEs.

Hosted on 29 November at the Negresco hotel, the Fellowship Award Ceremony 2022 honoured the 14 ETSI Fellows from 2020, 2021 and 2022. The celebration had been postponed due to the pandemic, so it was a great opportunity to acknowledge the outstanding contribution of those who are helping the world enter the digital transformation. To find out more about our ETSI fellows, visit our website: