ETSI unveils 2021 Fellows rewarding outstanding personal contribution.

Sophia Antipolis, 22 April 2021

ETSI is pleased to unveil its 2021 ETSI Fellows. The Award committee composed of the GA Chair and Vice-Chairs, the Board Chair and the ETSI Director-General, nominated Dr. Gabrielle Owen, Mr. Charles Brookson, Ms. Nurit Sprecher, Dr.- Ing.Hans Wilhelm Gierlich and Dr. Jamshid Khun-Jush and  Mr. Anthony Wiles as ETSI fellows for their outstanding personal contribution to ETSI.

Dr. Gabrielle Owen is Coordinator Engineering for Spectrum Management, Radiocommunications Agency NL, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate, the Netherlands and an ETSI Board member. More than 400 deliverables were published during her chairship of TC ERM, including many Harmonized Standards under the Radio Equipment Directive and documents which were submitted to CEPT/ECC relevant group to request the use of radio spectrum.

Charles Brookson, Director, Zeata Security, UK and OBE CEng FIET FRSA has been involved in security since the late 1970s. Within ETSI he helped set up TC SEC then TC LI and became Chair of OCG Security to coordinate security within ETSI. He was the first Chair of TC CYBER and continues to participate in security initiatives, meetings and Workshops.

Nurit Sprecher, Head of Management, Virtualization & Application Enablement Standardization, Nokia, initiated and led the ETSI ISG MEC, successfully positioning the multi-access edge computing technology as a key building block and enabler for 5G, IoT and mission-critical, vertical solutions. She has driven a powerful industry effort with the ETSI MEC and 3GPP SA6 groups to create a synergic edge computing architecture, to avoid industry fragmentation and to accelerate time-to-market.

Dr. - Ing.Hans Wilhelm Gierlich, Managing Director Telecom Division, HEAD acoustics GmbH, Germany, is mainly involved in acoustics, speech signal processing and its perceptual effects, QoS & QoE topics, measurement technology and speech transmission quality. He is active in ITU-T, 3GPP, GCF, IEEE, TIA, CTIA, DKE and VDA. He is currently Vice Chair of ETSI technical committee STQ. He holds five patents.

Dr. Jamshid Khun-Jush is Vice President, Technical Standards, Qualcomm CDMA Technologies GmbH, Germany and an ETSI Board member. As the chair of ETSI TC BRAN he was the key driver behind the global harmonization of OFDM technologies for broadband wireless LANs and MANs. He has also actively contributed to Harmonised Standards for Radio LANs as well as for Intelligent Transportation Systems and spectrum sharing techniques.

Anthony Wiles, former Director of the ETSI Centre for Testing and Interoperability, was deeply involved in the development of the widely used testing methodology ISO/IEC 9646. He was leader of the ETSI Task Force that developed the test specification language TTCN-3, which became the cornerstone of 3GPP RAN5 UE conformance testing. His legacy is an ETSI Secretariat resource that is unique in the world of standardization.

Process of nomination

The ETSI Fellowship programme rewards individuals who have made an outstanding personal contribution to ETSI, to building the work of ETSI, or raising its reputation in specific sectors of standardization. Any individual representative of an ETSI member may propose a candidate for an ETSI Fellowship. Candidates must have been proposed by representatives of at least two ETSI members.

If you want to propose a candidate, please send nominations to the ETSI Director-General using the application form on our website: