ETSI unveils 2020 Fellows rewarding outstanding personal contribution

Sophia Antipolis, 7 April 2020

ETSI is pleased to unveil its 2020 ETSI Fellows. The Award committee composed of the GA Chair and Vice-Chairmen, the Board Chair and the ETSI Director-General, nominated Brian Copsey, Kiritkumar P. Lathia, and Edgard Vangeel as ETSI fellows for their outstanding personal contribution to ETSI.

Brian Copsey, Director at Copsey-Comms, United Kingdom has been the Chair of ERM TG 17, the group in charge of broadcast related activities since 1996. Brian developed the first Assistive Listening Devices (ALD) Standard, EN 300 422, and was instrumental in creating the first multi country Radio Microphone standard. He is also an active contributor to testing radio interference of ALDs. Fellows all 348x239

Kiritkumar P. Lathia, B.Sc. C. Eng. and Fellow IET, United Kingdom, was a member of the ETSI Board and Chair of Finance Committee from 1997 to 2008. He was instrumental in replacing the ETSI Technical Assembly with the ETSI Board and OCG, he has been a key player in the creation of 3GPP and a major contributor to reduce membership fees for SMEs and Academia categories.

Edgard Vangeel, Manager Engineering at Cisco Systems, Belgium, was the Chair of ETSI TC BRAN from 2009 to 2019 and Chair of ERM TG11, the group in charge of in charge of 2.4 GHz Wireless LANs, since 1999. He has also been the ETSI Liaison Officer to CEPT WGFM since 2001. He has been a major contributor to the harmonized standard for 5 GHz RLANs, a key actor in Radio matters standards and instrumental in building DFS Requirements to protect civil and military radars.

Process of nomination

The ETSI Fellowship programme rewards individuals who have made an outstanding personal contribution to ETSI, to building the work of ETSI, or raising its reputation in specific sectors of standardization. Any individual representative of an ETSI member may propose a candidate for an ETSI Fellowship. Candidates must have been proposed by representatives of at least two ETSI members.

If you want to propose a candidate, please send nominations to the ETSI Director-General using the application form on our website.