Sophia Antipolis, 31 March 2023

ETSI is pleased to unveil its 2023 ETSI Fellows who were announced at the 81th ETSI General Assembly on 29 March. The award ceremony took place in the Fernand Leger museum, in Biot, near ETSI facilities in the South of France where art, science and technology mixed beautifully. Scott Cadzow, Hans Johansson and Robert Sarfati were unanimously nominated as ETSI Fellows for their outstanding personal contributions to the organization by the Award committee, composed of the GA Chair and Vice-Chairs, the Board Chair and the ETSI Director-General.

Scott Cadzow has been an active member of ETSI’s community since 1995 and over that period has contributed to developments across a vast swathe of ETSI’s technical work. From TETRA (as RES.6, then TETRA and TCCE) to TIPHON/TISPAN, including HF, MTS, eHealth, NFV—always pushing for the acceptance of security as a horizontal domain through the special SEC group until adoption as TC CYBER. Scott is a recognized expert in cybersecurity and its application across a number of technologies addressing core aspects of risk analysis, methods, and applications, in many cases breaking new ground for ETSI in domains such as AI, virtualized environments, and quantum migration. “I am very proud of this recognition. This fellowship award will hopefully give some impetus to drive forward activity in those technical bodies I am most involved with in ETSI: the Encrypted Traffic Integration and Securing AI groups, the eHEALTH and Intelligent Transport Systems Security groups, as well as in the CYBER technical committee” he says.

Hans Johansson has been a key contributor in ETSI from 2002 onwards for standards on road vehicle radio communication. His work started with developing harmonized standards for 5.8 GHz CEN/DSRC used in road toll equipment and similar applications. Later in TC ITS, Hans contributed to standards for 5.9 GHz ITS safety road applications and after some years became chair for the two physical layer groups. For TG37 it was complicated to develop and obtain EU acceptance of the harmonized standards for the new EU RED directive, including 6 years of negotiations. Hans coordinated the development of coexistence methods for completely different road ITS technologies. Because of the increased interest in using the 5.8 and 5.9 GHz band, Hans participated in other ETSI groups developing coexistence standards and participated in 10 different ECC groups, contributing to 17 CEPT/ECC reports.

Robert Sarfati has been the Chair of the Telecommunications Committee for Railway Communications (TC RT) for 21 years. The committee oversaw from 2001 onwards the development of ETSI standards in support of GSM-R and FRMCS. The work later expanded to the investigation and development of a common technical solution applicable to Urban Rail and coexisting with ITS in 2014. Robert initiated a key move of the rail sector from analogue telecommunications to the digital telecommunications world. Robert introduced and maintained a perfect complementarity between GSM-R Railway community (represented by the ‘Union Internationale des Chemins de Fer’ (UIC)) system requirements and the ETSI standards which provide the detailed standardized solutions. He was also one of the initiators of FRMCS, the 3GPP MCX-based system for which ETSI TC RT is currently developing ETSI standards as part of a European Commission standardization request. FRMCS will be the successor to GSM-R and Robert was instrumental in obtaining additional frequency for this system.


To know more about the programme, watch the video.

More information at: