Who are our members?

We have over 850 members drawn from 66 countries across five continents. This reflects the increasing globalization of the communications market and ETSI’s key role in enabling it.

Any company or organization with an interest in the creation of telecommunications and related standards can become a member of ETSI. We offer three types of membership, depending on geographical location and depth of involvement.

Representing a cross-section of our industry

Our membership includes all the relevant players:

  • manufacturers
  • network operators
  • service and content providers
  • national administrations
  • universities and research bodies
  • user organizations
  • consultancy companies and partnerships

This is unique among standards-developing organizations and creates a powerful and dynamic mix of skills and resources.

Our list of members includes some of the top international telecoms companies and national administrations. At the same time, about a quarter of our members are Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs) or micro-enterprises and 15% are research bodies or universities. User organizations also play a key role in ETSI in ensuring that our standards meet the needs of consumers.

The European Commission and EFTA Secretariat have a special advisory role in ETSI but do not take part in our decision making.

Our approach to standards-making

We have adopted an open approach:

  • We work through a process of consensus
  • Our members participate directly at all stages of our work

This creates co-operation between the different stakeholders and results in the production of highly successful standards in a wide range of areas.

Becoming a member

Becoming a member of ETSI confers numerous benefits.

We have put together a list of frequently asked questions about membership.

For further information, please contact Claire d'Esclercs.